International account provider
bunq
Digital bank
A licensed digital bank account with a European focus. Multi-currency and travel features depend on the plan. Listed for comparison.
At a glance
- Provider type
- European digital bank
- Legal status
- Digital bank
- Availability
- European markets
- Account model
- Digital bank account
- Currencies
- Multi-currency and travel-oriented features, depending on the plan.
- International transfers
- Cards, transfers, and FX or travel features, with app-based banking. International transfer scope is not separately stated.
- Minimum / eligibility
- Plan-dependent.
- Protection / safeguarding
- Licensed European bank. Country availability matters.
Is this actually a bank account?
International money-management products can look similar in an app while being legally very different.
Legal status: Digital bank.
Licensed digital bank account.
Licensed European bank. Country availability matters.
Who it may suit
Residents of supported European markets. That describes the published focus. It is not a view on whether this account is suitable for you.
Can you open it where you live?
European-focused banking coverage.
Availability: European markets.
Eligibility may depend on residence, nationality, immigration status or local provider entity.
Which entity holds the account?
The provider brand and the legal account entity are not always the same thing.
Described as a licensed European bank. The workbook does not name the legal entity for each country. Confirm with the provider.
Account model
Licensed digital bank account.
Digital bank account. Digital bank.
Holding money in different currencies
Being able to send a currency is not always the same as being able to hold a balance in that currency.
Multi-currency and travel-oriented features, depending on the plan.
Receiving salary and other payments
Not publicly stated. Confirm with the provider.
Local receiving details: Not publicly stated.
Sending money internationally
Cards, transfers, and FX or travel features, with app-based banking. International transfer scope is not separately stated.
A transfer can involve your provider, a bank in the middle, and the recipient’s bank. The workbook does not publish a live price for those charges.
FX and currency conversion
FX and travel features depend on the plan. Check the plan tariff.
Cards
Cards are described.
What does the account actually cost?
The total cost can include a monthly account fee, a minimum-balance fee, transfer fees, FX conversion, intermediary bank fees, card charges, ATM charges and a premium plan.
Plan-dependent. Check the provider’s current tariff before opening an account.
Plan-dependent.
Check the provider’s current tariff before opening an account.
What protection applies?
Bank deposit protection and payment or e-money safeguarding are different legal frameworks.
Licensed European bank. Country availability matters.
The applicable framework depends on the provider entity and jurisdiction. The protection framework depends on the legal entity serving you and where the account is booked.
Will the account still work if you move?
An account may stay as it is, move to another entity, lose some features, stop taking new money, restrict the card, close, or need a new local account. Eligibility can change with residence.
European-focused. Country availability matters. Confirm whether the account continues if you leave the supported markets.
Questions to ask
Can residents of my country open this account?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Is this a bank account or payment account?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Which legal entity serves me?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Where is the account legally booked?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Which protection or safeguarding regime applies?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Which currencies can I hold?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Which currencies can I receive?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Can I receive salary or pension payments?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Do I get local account details?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Can I make international transfers?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
What FX margin or conversion fee applies?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Are there monthly fees?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Is there a minimum balance?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
What happens if I move country?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Can I keep the account after changing tax residence?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Are there restrictions for US persons or other nationalities?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Can the account hold large balances?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Are incoming international transfers charged?
Confirm the current answer with bunq. It depends on the legal entity, your residence and the product.
Sources and review
Information is based on publicly available provider information reviewed by WiT Access. Account eligibility, fees, currencies and product terms can change. Reviewed 6 October 2026.